Weekend Movie Update: Scary-Good and “TROUBLE” Indeed!

by debsmoviereviews

HOUSE AT THE END OF THE STREET

RECOMMENDED

Anna’s Review: Finally, a decent scary movie! Suspenseful and unpredictable, but not gory. Max Thieriot could use some work but definitely someone to watch! 😉

TROUBLE WITH THE CURVE

NOT RECOMMENDED

Deb’s Review:  I know I know–I couldn’t believe what I was seeing either!  Sadly, there is definitely “trouble” with this movie.  A few descriptive words to sum it all up from various critics–who I happen to completely agree with as follows:  predictable, uninspiring, underwhelming, uncomfortable, clunky, sleepy (insert snooze alert here–literally), disappointing, stale, cheesy, boring.  A shame since one of the film locations was Macon, GA and it is about recruiting a potential number one pick for the Atlanta Braves.  On a bright note, if you are a Justin Timberlake fan, you may find his performance charming and definitely a welcome  distraction.  If you are not a JT fan…do not even waste your time.  I will not be going to see this movie again, nor will I rent it on DVD or even pay a $1 at Red Box for it.  I suggest renting Moneyball (which is a great movie!) or perhaps an “oldie goldie” baseball movie like A League of Their Own or Field of Dreams instead.

MIXED REVIEWS

Anna’s Review:  Being the Justin Timberlake fan that I am, I knew I had to see this movie ASAP!  I definitely should have waited. Oddly enough, it was Justin who looked most seasoned. Throughout the film, I thought Clint Eastwood was going to die… not his character but HIM! He should have stopped after Gran Torino and left the business on a good note. Even Amy Adams was dull and not worth watching for 2 hours. Overall, save your time, save your money and go see Finding Nemo!

Deb & Anna:  We miss Lawless already!

CLINT EASTWOOD MOVIES

A FEW FAVORITES

Play Misty for Me/The Outlaw Josey Wales/Dirty Harry/The Bridges of Madison County/Million Dollar Baby/Gran Torino

Director:  Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil

Images courtesy of imdb.com

SEE YOU AT THE MOVIES!

Creator- Debbie Tyson

Creative Consultant- Anna Lipsey

